Changu Narayan Temple of Nepal

  Changu Narayan Temple : The Second Oldest in Nepal:

Changu Narayan Temple located In Bhaktapur District, Nepal dates back to the fourth century. It is widely considered to be one of the oldest in Nepal.


This temple is of great historical importance as it is one of the oldest continuously functioning shrines in Kathmandu valley—dating from the 4th century onward—and preserves a pillar inscribed with Sanskrit text from the 5th century reign of King Manadeva a Licchavi-dynasty king.

In later centuries, we do see a record from around the year 610 of King Amsuvarman in Harigaon donating to support the Changu Narayan, strongly suggesting an unbroken continuity of use from the 4th to the 7th centuries,

Built on top of a high hill about seven miles directly east of Kathmandu, the temple is dedicated to Bhagvan Vishnu, although shrines to Lord Shiva, Ashta Matrika, Chhinnamasta, Kileshwor, and Lord Krishna are also found within the wider temple complex.

Pictures of some old sculptues, deity & the temple are presented for information. (They are from the internet.)



  • Historical pillar erected by Mandeva in 464 AD with Sanskrit inscriptions.



  • Vishnu Vikrant :- 7th-century sculpture of Trivikram Vishnu that depicts the scene of popular Hindu myth of Lord Vishnu and his beloved Bali Raja.




  • Chanda Narayan (Garuda Narayan):- a 7th century stone sculpture of Vishnu riding on Garuda. This sculpture has been depicted in the 10 rupee paper note issued by Nepal Rastra Bank.



  • Narasimha :- a 7th-century sculpture of Narasimha, an incarnation of Lord Vishnu, killing the demon King Hiranyakasyapa to save his beloved devotee Prahalad.



  • Vishworup:- 7th century stone sculpture- beautifully carved that depicts the scene from the Bhagwat Gita, in which Lord Krishna manifests his universal form to his devotee Arjun.



  • Sridhar Vishnu:- 9th century stone sculpture of Vishnu, Laxmi, and Garuda which stands on the pedestals of various motifs.



  • Vaikuntha Vishnu :- 16th-century sculpture of Vishnu seated on the Lalitasan position on the six armed Garuda and Laxmi seated on the lap of Vishnu



  • Chhinnamasta:- Temple dedicated to Chhinnamasta Devi, who beheaded herself, offered her own blood to feed the hungry Dakini and Varnini.



  • Vishnu has four arms and holds the disc and mace / club. Durga has eight arms and holds the sword, damaru drum, trident, and disc. Shiva has four arms and holds a damaru drum, a trident, and a small water pot.



  • Kileshwor:- small two-storied temples of Lord Shiva, who is believed to have appeared in this place for the protection of the hill.

A sketch of the temple


Popular posts from this blog

NatyaShastra & Bhava-Rasa Theory of Bharata

SWASTIK Symbol Originated in the Harappan Period?

Ancient Indian Hair-Styles